Vegan Days 9 and 10

Things are plugging along quite nicely here.

Day 9 started off with overnight oats topped with strawberry and banana. Mmmmmm, I love me some overnight oats!

Lunch was leftover Daiya vegan pizza. This was supper. I had some rice and black beans left over from when I made veggie burgers. Added some corn….and presto. 

This morning started off with a chocolate shake. It was a nice change from my usual berry smoothies. Kinda felt like I was having dessert for breakfast! (I got this recipe from Minimalist Baker’s Everyday Cooking cookbook that I bought for Kindle last night.

Lunch today was more leftovers. Still yummy.

Highlight of the past two days was taking five minutes with this girl to make frozen treats with nothing but coconut milk “yogurt”, fresh berries and a splash of maple syrup. (Recipe from My Plant-Based Family)


I’m learning a lot. One thing I’m learning is that I really want to become adept at making homemade vegan food as opposed to buying more processed things with tons of ingredients that don’t seem all that natural or healthy. For example, tonight William had soccer so we needed a quick supper that we could make and eat in minutes. We settled on some tortilla chips with tofutti sour cream and salsa. The tofutti sour cream was fine tasting…but the ingredients list made me uncomfortable. As time goes on, I want to be able to make healthy versions of this stuff on my own. My biggest barrier right now is a lack of time, particularly a lack of time to plan, shop and prep. I’ll get it worked out eventually.

And, another thing I’m learning is that I’m only human. I work full time. I have a busy schedule both during the day and in the evenings. I can only do so much. I have to pace myself so I don’t burn out. When I’m eating a whole foods, plant-based diet, my kitchen is naturally going to be used more often and messier more often. Small price to pay, right?

Leave a Reply

