Vegan Day 7 – Best Burgers Ever!

Today’s big accomplishment was definitely the homemade veggie burgers I made for supper. I found the recipe over at Minimalist Baker. All I can say is wow! Give these a try, you won’t be disappointed!


They basically consisted of brown rice, mashed black beans, walnuts, breadcrumbs, onion, spices and barbecue sauce. They didn’t take that long to make and they tasted better than a real burger!!

  Unfortunately, I did burn them…


But, I was literally able to pick the black stuff off…


And they still tasted amazing!! William (who is five) ate half of one and Emma (who is seven) managed to eat all of hers. Jeff and I both devoured two each.


The only thing I would do differently next time would be to process the black beans with the food processor rather than mashing them…and only because the kids weren’t big on the chunks of beans.

Wow, can you believe I have a whole week in without eating any meat or animal products? I feel great and am still very happy and comfortable with the decision I’ve made. And, I’m excited to keep learning!

Leave a Reply

