Reading this may just change your life.

So, last night this Weekend Reading List by Becoming Minimalist appeared in my Facebook news feed: Inspiring Simplicity. Weekend Reads.

I just read the first article How to Become a Luckier Person Overnight.

I am BEGGING everyone who is reading this to go, right now, and read this article. Yes, it’s long. Yes, it has lots of words in it but, please, humour me. I sincerely believe it has the ability to change your life. If you let it, it will show you how to be more like the person you’ve always wished you could be. If you don’t have time to read it now, then bookmark it and go back to it later when you have the time to really read it and pay attention.

The article talks about exploring gratitude in the most ridiculous circumstances. The author describes a situation where his storage locker was broken into and his bike was stolen. Damn, why are you still here? Just read it. My explanation will never do it justice. I was never any good at book reports. Just come back when you’re done, k? Pretty please?

Done? Ok. Here’s the thing. I’ve always often been a silver lining girl. I am lucky in that I usually naturally see what’s good about even the most (seemingly) awful of situations. But, frankly, it’s a trait that annoys a lot of people.

For whatever reason, people who are not naturally inclined to look for the positives and feel at least a little bit grateful are often offended by people like me. They roll their eyes at the silver lining having decided in an instant that a situation is bad, all bad and nothing but bad. And, (it seems) they think that by acknowledging the good, the bad is being viewed as unimportant. And that anyone who points out the good is being dismissive. But, that’s not it. Every single situation can be both bad and good at the same time. But, choosing to look for the good, and then feeling grateful for the good, is the difference between a successful, happy life and a life where you are a victim every single day.

The author of this article did an extraordinary job describing how to mindfully explore what might be good about a situation. No one is saying you’re mandated to feel great about losing your job or finding out your kid is sick or having a fight with your spouse or breaking up with the person you think is the love of your life. You’re just encouraged to think about whether or not any part of a “bad” situation is good. And, if you find something good about it, which you invariably will, you’re encouraged to take a second to feel gratitude.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy, right…?

A great blogger I’ve talked about before has explored The Difference Between Knowing the Path and Walking the Path. I challenge all of us to walk this path of gratitude and to see and feel the light it brings into our lives.

Try it out and tell me what you think. Tell me if it has an impact on any part of your day. And click the share button below if you think it has the potential to improve the outlook of someone you know.

3 thoughts on “Reading this may just change your life.

  1. So, once I started this whole Get Better at Life mission I’ve been on post-divorce, I’ve enjoyed all of the mindfulness and How to do X Better stuff that I’ve read.

    It dawned on me quickly that I have all of these things in my life that I want to achieve or acquire. But that if I FELT every day, just as I did right then in the crappiest, darkest moments, no amount of “successes” or getting something I thought I wanted would help.

    Misery permeated everything for months. No matter what. A billion dollars wouldn’t have fixed it. Sitting on a beach with drinks every day would have helped a tiny bit probably, but it wouldn’t have fixed it either.

    It had to come from the inside.

    Everyone will think of this and define this differently, but I contend that what everyone REALLY wants is to feel happy.

    We want money, success, love, peace, family, friends, victory, fun, purpose, laughter, orgasms, substance-induced euphoria, acknowledgment, respect, etc. BECAUSE those things help us feel (oversimplified) good instead of bad.

    That really affected me once I realized that. Once I realized that nothing on my Life Goals list would ultimately being me the internal contentment and peace I seek.

    I started reading about other cultures. I watched a documentary called “Happy” on Netflix. That’s when I learned about the people of Bhutan. A country who doesn’t measure success in economic or education or employment or crime rate terms, but in happiness terms.

    Bhutan has a National Happiness Index that it’s government uses to benchmark its various initiatives.

    Most people in North America have it soooo much better than the Bhutanese people. We have a lot more money. Better health care. Better schools. Nicer houses. Nicer cars. More “stuff.”

    Everything we (culturally) value, we have in spades over those people.

    Yet, people in Bhutan are among the very happiest in the world.

    They feel connected. They feel joy. They feel loved and safe and valued by others.

    They are kind. Humble. And share the many things they do have with one another.

    Most importantly, they spend every day feeling extraordinarily grateful and blessed for all they have and one another.

    Because the people of Bhutan are mindful of the thing so many of us in Western cultures forget about every day: How ridiculously blessed we are for our embarrassment of riches we were all born into, especially when compared to so many other parts of the world, less fortunate by pretty much any objective measure.

    Everyday, they say, think and feel: THANK YOU.

    Maybe to God. Maybe to the Universe. Maybe to each other.

    When we say, think and feel “Thank you,” we have a real chance for happiness.

    When we are ungrateful, or take things for granted, we have very little chance.

    I really liked the article you shared. It was perfect. I forget every day–EVERY DAY–to be grateful for my life and all of the good things in it.

    I, like you, am conscious of the silver linings and choose to focus on them, but I’m as capable of a downward emotional swing as anyone.

    And we deserve better than that. Wasting days feeling horrible, when we have another opportunity to choose gratitude, and by proxy, good health and happiness.

    Thank you for sharing this with me.

    Thank you for sharing my stuff with others.

    It is a very real reminder of how blessed I am.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

