A Walk in the Park

I don’t really do New Year’s resolutions. I’m more of a new-day resolution kinda girl. Still, there are two times each year when I am extra motivated: in September, at the beginning of the school year and, yep, you guessed it, January 1.

So, this year in addition to being extra motivated in all my usual areas -fitness, nutrition, decluttering – I got motivated in the “be a better pet owner and take the dog for a walk ” category. Between working full time and kid stuff, our giant, furry monster, Jaxon, doesn’t always get the attention he should. Admittedly, it may have been my burning desire to test out the GPS function on my new Fitbit that sparked that first walk…but that’s totally not the point.

I started small. Night one – a very quick walk just one street over and back. I was actually struck by how pretty and peaceful everything looked. But, it was cold. And windy. And I had the sniffles. So, it was short. But Jaxon pranced happily along and I was motivated to do it again.

Night two was a longer walk, and night three even longer with a detour through our neighbourhood park….where I let him off his leash and watched the magic happen.

The nine-year-old, 120-pound beast turned into a puppy, racing through the snow at lightening speed only to turn back and wait for me with that big, dumb grin. We played tug of war, rolled in the snow. We were buds.

Tonight, my 7 year old joined in the dog-walking fun. We ran, we played, we laughed. It reminded me of walking the family dog with my dad as a kid. It reminded me of letting her off the leash in the field by the rink and feeling like we were both free.

Now I remember why I got the ape to begin with. Dogs, unlike people, are ridiculously easy to please.

Leave a Reply

